Google Maps’s New Feature “Your Timeline” Will Show You Where You Have Been In Past

Google has announced a new inclusion for its Google Maps called ‘Your Timeline,’ which is specially designed to show you where you have been and places you have visited in the past, like time they’ve spent at each location, trips they have made etc. And Your Timeline feature of Google Maps is private and can only be seen by you on your device and can also choose which localities you want to keep and ones you want to get rid of. Great!

Your Timeline, is something that is very useful way to remember and view places you’ve been on that particular day, month or year. Your Timeline allows you to visualize your real-world routlines, easily see the trips you have taken and get a glimpse of the places where you spend your time with your loved ones.

Available on desktop and Android, you can access Your Timeline if you’ve opted-in to store your Location History with Google. Appears under the ‘Your Places’ tab in the Maps app, and visible only to you and you can choose whether to remove or keep it alive. You can even edit any places that appears in Your Timeline, including removing a specific location or giving a frequent spot a private name like my friends house or my Favorite Spot. This spot will then appear right in Google Maps when you’re logged in.


With Your Timeline, you have even more ways to view and control your location data. Helpful tool as you explore the world around you.  Google Maps is rolling out a new feature for Android and desktop called Your Timeline that shows you location history in a handy timeline view. If you’re using Google Photos, you’ll also see any photos you took on a specific day.

To learn more about the new Your Timeline feature for Google Maps over at the Google blog at the link here.