WhatsApp Now Lets You DELETE And Revoke Messages You Sent By Mistake

Finally, WhatsApp rolled out the ability to ‘Delete for Everyone’ that allows its over users to revoke messages after in case they have sent those to a wrong person or a group. The same feature has been tested for most of 2017. What’s new and what is the timescale to do so. Here are the details.

You’ll be able to delete messages up to seven minutes after you sent them, which will then disappear from conversations or group chats. According to the case study in a new WhatsApp support article, it reveals that both sender and receiver will need the latest WhatsApp version on Android, iPhone or Windows Phone for this feature to work. The feature is rolling out gradually to one billion WhatsApp users this week.

WhatsApp has been working on this feature for almost a year.

“Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat. This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake,” WhatsApp noted.

You can now delete messages for everyone or just for yourself.


Messages you successfully delete to everyone will be replaced with “This message was deleted” in your recipients’ chat. Similarly, if you see “This message was deleted” in the chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone.

This is how it works:

To delete messages you’ll get a new option after you select delete, allowing you to “delete for everyone” instead of just from your own device.

Open WhatsApp and go to chat containing the removable message you wish to delete. Tap and hold that message and choose Delete from the menu.

Alternatively, the option to select more messages to delete multiple messages at once also added. Then tap “Delete for Everyone.”

While the feature appears to be rolling out, it’s not fully live just yet. WhatsApp does warn that “recipients may see your message before it’s deleted or if the deletion was not successful,” so it’s not guaranteed. It’s also possible that WhatsApp users will still see messages in notifications before they’re deleted.

Recipients may see your message before it’s deleted or if the deletion was not successful. This feature works for messages in text, video clips, GIFs, pictures, voice messages, quoted messages and status replies, as per a fan website that tracks WhatsApp.

The second part is to delete messages only for yourself.

Deleting messages for yourself allow you to only delete your copy of messages you’ve sent or received from your phone. Either way, there is no effect on your recipients’ chat. Your recipients will still see the messages in their chat screen, WhatsApp said.

Tap and hold the message and choose to Delete from the menu. Optionally, you can also delete multiple messages at once. Tap “Delete for Me”, instead “Delete for Everyone.”

Obviously, this is a good addition to those mistaken messages or alcoholic-induced ones. Just remember it might not always work, and WhatsApp won’t notify you if it does fail.

Up next: