Here’s Everything You Should Know About Snapchat Groups, Allows Chatting Up To 16 Members

While Facebook’s Instagram is somewhat busy ripping off Snapchat features, while the original transitory messaging app has finally added something that Instagram has had for years: group chats.

It’s very straightforward, where Snapchat’s group chat is simply called “Groups” and if you know your way around the app, that does come with a few kinks, and some of its much needed features may not be pretty obvious.

Snapchat introduces Groups for all 16 members
Rolled out group chats, Snapchat new feature allows people jion a Group up to 16 members. Sweet sixteen. Want to add a 17th person? For that case, the answer is ‘Sorry’, you’ll have to kick someone out of the sixteen group members. You can add more people to the Snapchat Group later. Any member of an existing Group can add more people (but until the Group fills up to 16) at any time. Tap the menu icon within a group chat and later tap “Add to Group”.

It’s really easy to create a Group in Snapchat. Go into your chat, tap the button in the upper left to add members and then give the Group a name.

Wait! Within 24 hours, the messages in the Group dies one by one as time reaches marches ever-forward. It’s just like with messages sent to individual users by means. After 24 hours, messages disappear forever…unless you save them.

Of course, you can save messages in a Group. How? Saving works exactly the same as in private messaging. Just press and hold on a message and then tap save. The thread will make a note of the save so all the people in the Group will see that you saved the message.

By the way, you can really have a side conversation very easily. It’s the digital equivalent of pulling someone aside for a quick side chat. Though it’s being a group chat, you can still message members individually really quickly and seamlessly.

For that. Just tap on their name to send them a private message. It’s perfect in throwing secret shade. Groups lets you not only messages, but also the media that you can with regular direct messaging. Go crazy with all the Bitmoji and silly video notes you want like Friendmoji, voice notes and video notes.

Like this:

To rename the Group. Tap the hamburger menu icon in the upper left and then tap “Edit Group Name”. Anyone in the Group can do so. The catch still resides, as we could see this being a problem with keeping track of different groups if people keep on renaming them. Whether this is a bug or a feature now’s a good time to remind yourself to always look at who you’re sending messages to before you shoot them off. However, you don’t want to have to explain yourself over a message meant for a different group.

What happens if you unfortunately or fortunately leave a Group?

Dark and dangerous things. In all seriousness, apart from everyone seeing in the chat that you’re left, all of your messages will be literally cleared from the group into trash box. In order to jion back into the Group, it’s a good one, but. The bad news: you have to start fresh. All messages sent from other group members before you left and after you left aren’t visible anymore (within the 24 hours time limit).

Jion my Snapchat Group
Here’s what the fast-growing social network sought to broaden its services ahead of an expected share offering.

The holidays are a great time to hang out with friends and spend time with family – it’s always better together! We couldn’t think of a better time to announce Groups, a new way to communicate with up to 16 friends on Snapchat,” said a blog post from the California-based platform known for its disappearing messages.

You might also like to check out: