Unicode 9.0 Is Now Official: Brings 72 New Emojis With Black Heart And More

Unicode is one unique emoticons product that provides a variety of icons of every character, called emojis alternatively. There are hundreds of different encoding systems, also conflicts with one another. The Unicode Standard has been adopted by such industry leaders as Apple, Microsoft, IBM, HP, JustSystems, Oracle, SAP, Sun, Sybase, Unisys and many others. Unicide literally requires a modern starndards such as XML, Java, ECMAScript, LDAP, COBRA 3.0, WML, etc, which it is supported in many operating systems like mobiles and desktops, all modern browsers and other products. Today, Unicode Standard has released a latest version of 72 new emoji characters, as it promised last month.


Version 9.0 of Unicode collection includes several new emojis, Faces, hand gestures, gender pairings, animals, food, drinks, and sports. Neveretheless brings with it a black heart icon. Wait! This update for Unicode doesn’t mean all of those 72 new emojis will be rolled out to end-users immediately. In fact, this is for smartphone manufacturers and official public release will depend on these companies later on.



Unicode’s version 8.0 released in 2015 gets 37 new emojis plus new skin tone modifier capabilities, which counts as 285 emoji characters if each modified emoji was added. Now that, Unicode 9.0 includes a larger amount of new emojis, there’s still no specific new functionality – as gender or hair color attributes.

Here are all 72 images in glorious high resolution to check out:

Amongst the non-emoji updates included in Unicode 9.0 are support for Adlam, Bhaiksuki, Marchen, Newa, Osage and Tangut scripts.


In addition to the new emoji, Unicode 9.0 brings character support for “lesser-used languages” that include:

  • Osage, a Native American language
  • Nepal Bhasa, a language of Nepal
  • Fulani and other African languages
  • The Bravanese dialect of Swahili, used in Somalia
  • The Warsh orthography for Arabic, used in North and West Africa
  • Tangut, a major historic script of China

However, these have only been finalized as part of the Unicode 9.0 standard, and you’ll have to wait until Microsoft includes the latest batch of additions in an update. All those details available on the Unicode website.

(Visited 237 times, 1 visits today)