Dropbox Makes It Easier To Share Files With Team, Manage Work With Login Accounts

Now that Dropbox has introduced a new collaboration feature called Team. It was four years ago, Dropbox was live as a file storage and synchronization company, although reached 25 million users, and was of course in the midst of a growth spurt that has carried it to more than 400 million Dropbox login users, and the valuation of $10 billion in private markets. It was fast, simple syncing of files between computers and mobile devices, then as now, it looked like an incredible business, but less so currently.

To get rid of dropdown, Dropbox, a cloud storage service on Monday announced a major update that makes it easier and faster for users to share files with a group of people. In addition, to make it more simpler to users and keep personal files and work files seperately, rolled out a new Team feature onto both Basic (free) and Pro users.

The Dropbox’s Team feature is specifically designed to encourage project collaboration and management for work-related files on the platform. On Dropbox.com, there’s a new “Team” tab available on the left-hand menu list that allows users to quickly organise groups of coleagues and share files with them. Where one can create a team folder and everyone in that team logged-in gets access to all those files present in the folder. If a new member joined or added to the team, it will have an immediate impact to these files access, as the company notes it.


In brief:

Once you create your team, you’ll get additional tools to help you use Dropbox more effectively at work:

  • Collaborate in one central place. Put all the information everyone needs in the team folder — and keep them all on the same page. Each team member will automatically get access to files put in this folder for easy collaboration from anywhere.
  • Share even faster with your team. Create groups of team members to quickly share with working groups. And if you need to add someone later on, they’ll instantly get access to any folders already shared with the group.
  • Keep your files where you need them. Everyone can create separate accounts for personal and work files so they can stay focused on getting things done. Both accounts will be available from anywhere — desktop, mobile, and on the web.

The cloud storage firm also making it easier for users to even seperate between their work files and personal data, though it’s said that it realises that users just use the same account and fill it with all kinds of files. However, the solution doesn’t involve one account with different folders. Instead, it is now giving users an option to quickly switch between their personal and work Dropbox accounts. Both the features will be rolling out to users in the upcoming weeks or so and will be available from desktop, mobile, and on the web.


Learn more about Dropbox’s new Team feature from here.

(Download Dropbox)