Beware: This iPhone Text Message Bug Asks For Your Apple ID And Password [Don’t Fall]

It has been identified a new iPhone text messaging scam doing the rounds as part of an effort to trick unsuspecting users into parting with sensitive account information. Not using the native alert view system to trick the user into interacting, rather taking action via pop-up and then running a malicious code. This new text scam on iPhone making its way into user’s iOS device through simple texts in the hope pf conning people into trusting the contents of the message.

Scams like these are utterly assosiated to go hand-in-hand with modern technology, will be able to spot this as a phishing scam a mile off. Most users with a relatively familiarity with tech. However, it seems that the message itself is enough official-looking to convince some people to follow the embedded URL and provide their own Apple ID and linked password in the hope of preventing their account from being terminated by Apple.

Technically saying, that is never actually going to happen if the very thought of it seems enough to drive some trust into such messages, especially when they are sent to new iOS users, starting down the barrel of an expiring Apple ID.

Here’s what this malicious text message in question looks like:

[Name] your Apple ID is due to expire today. To prevent termination confirm your details at – Apple Support.

Although the type of scam being explored by this phishing method isn’t just limited to grabbing Apple ID details, but also looking to get a hold of a user’s bank and credit card details.

Major key components of the text messaging is that instantly breeds trust amongst those who receive it, and the fact here is that it actually personalized with the receiver’s full name. That in itself suggests that the perpetrators behind that scam have actually purchased or received a database of names and numbers from a currently unknown source. The text continues to warn receiver that his/her Apple account could be terminated if the URL isn’ followed and the account details aren’t confirmed. Like shown below.


                                                                                          (Image credit: @davidvitty)

Of course, Apple warns against this type of attack on its support websites, and would never actually request account details in such a manner anyway. Attackers are seriously looking for new and increasingly sophesticated methods of tricking device owners into parting with sensitive account or financial info. This could be the latest method of tricking iPhone owners into, and is most definitely one that should be avoided at all costs.

You may also like to check out: