Breaking Up? Facebook Rolls Out A New Feature For Couples To Improve Relationships

Facebook is now introducing new tools to try and limit users’ exposure to their exes as well as the information those exes will be able to see about them in return. Tests ‘break-up’ tools, Facebook, the world’s biggest social network has just announced that it is trailing new tools to make it less painful when handling a relationship gone sour.

Starting today, Facebook are testing tools to help people manage how they interact with their former partners ‘ex’ on FB after a relationship has ended.

Breaking up is a hard task – especially on Facebook, being reminded of them every time you open the page can only make matters worse. For that reason, knowing everything rolling new tools, available only on mobile and that too in the United States initially – will make themselves known when someone changes their partnership status. At this particular point, users will be asked whether or not they want to see less of what that relationship posts to Facebook, which is certainly a good way to cut down on the amount of posts to theirs yiu see when all you want to do is forget that someone ever existed.

Users will be able to hide post either and images that they’ve updated through post, stopping their ex from seeing them. Similar to the un-friending option, but simply reversed. Exes will no longer see what a user posts unless specifically tagged, for instance.

Tow options are graceful for future posts, facebook will also allow users to effectively wipe their ex from their history as well, untagging themselves from posts, photos and videos. May be an unclear option, but if you’re in the middle of a breakup, it can be an important step. A bit burning old photographs, if you will.

Relationships on Facebook is a big deal. The same time using the social network to send a divorce summons was completely legal. While Facebook’s new break-up tool is about altering what an ex can see, but without them knowing you’ve done anything.

The took allows people to:

  • “See less of a former partner’s name and profile picture around Facebook without having to unfriend or block them. Their posts won’t show up in News Feed and their name won’t be suggested when people write a new message or tag friends in photos.”
  • “Limit the photos, videos or status updates that a former partner will see.”
  • “Edit who can see their past posts with a former partner and untag themselves from posts with that person.”

Importantly, none of these changes will be notified to the ex in question, again avoiding any uncomfortable questions as a result. These new tools reflect, and will be extremely useful to those who simple want to excise someone from their life without un-friending them completely.


Want to involve? If you’re a mobile user in the US you can try out the tool right now by, er, breaking up with someone.

(Source: Facebook) : This work is part of our ongoing effort to develop resources for people who may be going through difficult moments in their lives. We hope these tools will help people end relationships on Facebook with greater ease, comfort and sense of control